15 weeks with twins -(feels like 28) 

Ava at 15 weeks 

I’ll add a picture tomorrow, can’t handle the effort that takes 😂
Ugh, maybe because it happened all of a sudden rather than growing slowly. Maybe it’s because a have a 2 year old that doesn’t understand mommy can’t do that anymore. Or maybe it’s because there’s TWO in there! I can’t move like I used to, I’m slow, I can’t bend over to help Ava. My vagina aches and is filled with pressure, I’m petrified my cervix can’t handle the weight and I will go into premature labor. 😩 I’m just having a tough week. I tried to get a facial/massage yesterday. It went great, then I came home to a screaming 2 year old in the middle of a tantrum. The tantrum continued on and off until bedtime when hubby insisted he had to go out to meet his softball buddies (thankfully he waited until she was in bed) but the house looked like a tornado hit it, so I spent the next hour putting crap in its rightful place and went to bed at 8pm. May I add with a toddler and 2 adults working 45+ hours a week nothing stays in it’s place long. 

Saturday evening we had a little scare and went to the ER. A few weeks ago I had a similar pain. (Top of belly, under breasts, intense pain and pressure, unable to breath, can’t stand, hard to talk). The first time it lasted 30 min. But Saturday it lasted a whole hour. After 40 min we called my inlaws to come over to watch Ava (already sleeping). We drove to ER about 20 min away. Wouldn’t ya know the pain stopped as we got off the exit. But we were already there so we went in. I paid the $100 copay to sit and wait for 2 hours because In triage I’m not important, I’m not in labor. Loved seeing the teen moms in the ER with no insurance looking confused as to why you don’t take Motrin during a pregnancy or why the swelling is normal at this stage. I hate my ER with a passion but the hospital itself is amazing, I mean it’s named Women and Infants. Anyways, doctors said it’s probably gastritis but I’m afraid it’s gallbladder. They won’t do anything (but give me a quickie ultrasound to check on the noodles) so I’ll mention gallbladder to my doctor tomorrow. 

Side note: Ava’s potty trained (#1 not #2 just yet). She averages 0-1 accidents a day, usually at open play time at school where she’s too busy to go. I wanted this so bad but it’s been difficult. I keep reminding myself that chancing and wrestling a 2 year old into a diaper is a lot harder than getting her to use the potty. Poop, eh they’ve gotten her to go twice at school but a lot of times she realizes it too late. We’re working on that one. 

 Weight gain: find out tomorrow. Update: up 10 lbs total since our egg retreival 

Eating: eating great! Not many cravings. Definitely smaller meals as I am filling up more quickly. I tried to go down to one diceglis at night for nausea but woke up Nauseous so I’mback up  to 2. 

Sleep: pretty good, can’t complain. 

Symptoms and Movement: 

Nausea – see above

Vulvar varicose veins – getting worse, I bought a support belt and it doesn’t make the pressure go away but it does relieve it enough that I don’t have to lay down after work. 

Bump- it’s huge, I feel like I went from 14 weeks to 28 weeks over night. I can’t bend over to put Ava’s shoes and socks on. Sitting on her stool has gotten harder. And she tried to sit on my lap for reading and it was harder 😦 she doesn’t understand I can’t move like I used to. The past 2 days I’ve been 8-10 min later than normal due to slowing down. 

Overall I’m slowing down, losing breath pretty easily, minor cramping and stretching as my body makes room for the two babies in there. 

Emotions: tired and kind of cranky. My patience with Ava hasn’t been great and it makes me sad. She’s pushing the envelope and I’m trying to hold firm. I never used to lose my patience so quickly with her.  

Missing: walking without swelling in my vagina (same as last week) 

Purchases: bought Ava’s new car seat (diono radian ) it’s much slimmer than her monstrous graco 4ever. It came in but I have to go pick it up. I bought a maternity pair of jeans and sweatshirt from old navy, they came in but I haven’t tried them on yet. 

Looking forward to: doctor appointment tomorrow 

update: looking great. Both strong and healthy heartbeats, she checked my cervix because I was petrified of a weak cervix and giving birth at 20 weeks. Perfect! Going in for blood work and ultrasound to check gallbladder 

Best moment of the week: telling more people and a handful of my students (I told them no, I wasn’t getting fatter just growing 2 babies in there). 

Clothes: ugh 😑 hate clothes. Maternity pants are no longer too big. I’ve been trying to hide my bump which has also led to some frustration. But today, I’d had it. I wore a tight shirt with an open cardigan. 

Exercise: getting Ava ready in the am or fir bed. Does that count?? 

2 thoughts on “15 weeks with twins -(feels like 28) 

  1. I had a gallbladder attack at about 6 weeks this pregnancy that sounds very similar to the location and pain of yours. I thought I was dying. My husband said we needed to go to the ER and between vomiting, tears, and basically screaming from pain, I told him if we were going, he better call an ambulance. And then, just before we did all that, it went away. I got checked by my OB the next morning and they did an ultrasound and blood work, chalked it up to a gallbladder attack. Craziest thing ever. Said to watch my diet and call them if it happens again. Thankfully it didn’t. Hoping yours doesn’t happen again either!

    • Ugh it happened last night! Thankfully it only last 30 min. And I had had fast food :/ won’t be doing that again. Ugh it was awful! I wasn’t happy the ER kept saying gastritis. I know what heartburn, indigestion etc feels like! But we’ll see what my doctor says today.

Leave a Reply

