I’ve never been the center of attention type…

Just as my title states, I hate being the center of attention. Now don’t get me wrong, I like some attention just not the CENTER of it. I see some movies and some of my friends do the “I’m pregnant!” and everyone giggles and squeals and awwws. I find it awkward to be in the middle of that, not my thing.

With our first pregnancy my Mom knew, we told my brother and his wife early and we told my inlaws probably around 8-10 weeks (I can’t remember), we did the whole picture with a sign. At 12-13 we really told a lot of people here and there (or I guess I did). But our friends knew and it started to spread that extended friends found out. But then we had the miscarriage, and that was the worst to keep track of who knew and make sure we tell them. I had a friend at work tell the people that already knew, so I didn’t have to. I didn’t want sympathy or “How ARE you doing?” I’m a private person, I don’t want to talk to you about my loss. The worst came with a friend of a friend text hubby with a congratulations probably 2 weeks after the miscarriage, that hit Ben really hard. So we were very guarded for pregnancy number 2.

With Ava, my mom knew early. And literally, I think everyone else didn’t know until 16 weeks. We did an elective ultrasound at 16 weeks 1 day and found out she was a girl. I was having a Lia Sophia party for my friend at the house, so last minute we changed it to a gender reveal party. When everyone showed up it was exciting to see their faces. Most of my friends “knew” I was. I had missed a lot of work, I hadn’t been drinking with them. But we cut our cake and the pink M&M’s came cascading out of the center. It was fun, but the attention didn’t stay on me. (see gender reveal post  It’s A Girl)  We never announced on facebook, baby bumps just started showing up in pictures.{My shower was tough with the attention. I hated being in the middle, I felt fake as I ooh’d and aah’d all the pretty stuff. Don’t get me wrong here, I am insanely appreciative of the gifts and I love almost all of them, but I’m not a gushy person.}

Anyways, that brings me to my next thought. How do I tell people about this pregnancy? Twins no less?? My mom knew right away because our transfer day landed on a weekend when Ava couldn’t go to daycare. My brother and sister in law knew almost right away, we told me inlaws last weekend at my mother in laws birthday dinner. I printed a picture of the ultrasound with clip art party hats on the babies. Then it read “Happy Birthday From Baby A and Baby B” My best friend at work knows, my closest group from high school knows and that’s about it. I thought about a small gender reveal but with the bump where it’s at now, I’m not lasting until 16 weeks again. I’m 11 and the bump  is lifting my regular shirts up (having to wear long shirts, tunics or maternity shirts). My pants are already elastic tied. I am hoping to make it to Jan. 30th (my NT scan and I will be 12.5 weeks). But still not sure how we will tell people. Just tell a few and let the gossip spread? My mother in law will take care of telling that side of the family, she’s already ready to shout it from the roof tops!

What have you done? How have you told people of your pregnancy?? When have you told the world??

Would you do a gender reveal for baby #2?

Decisions, Decisions….

One thought on “I’ve never been the center of attention type…

  1. With both of mine we told family first and then close friends that we felt deserved to know and then we, or I mostly, posted some cute announcement on Facebook. For baby #2 it was simply my first child in a big sister t shirt

Leave a Reply

