6 Weeks Old and 14 Years Old

IMG_0077IMG_0078

Jade and Ava meeting for the first time

Ava is 6 weeks old today! Although I am happy my baby is growing strong I’m also a little sad because my dog of 14 years might be put down today, she’s a beagle. 😦 My mom had been watching her when I had Ava. We have two dogs and the beagle, Jade, is kind of a pain. She’s stubborn – goes out every 30 minutes, has accidents in the house sometimes, barks and howls a lot etc. So my mom wanted to give me a break and get into a routine with Ava before we brought her home. My Mom brought her back last night but had warned me she was taking a turn for the worse. She struggles up and down the stairs, has had 4-5 accidents a day in the house (both #1 and #2), she’s been deaf for years now. She came home and I thought she would be better here (I don’t think she likes my mom, and I know my mom doesn’t like her lol) and she had several accidents again. So my Mom made an appointment to get her checked out and see what we can do, I’m currently waiting for the news. She’s at the appointment now. I have had her about half of my life. I got her in 2001 when I was a freshman in high school, I’m now 29. She just turned 14 on February 1st. Before she left this morning we snuggled and took pictures with Ava. So I finally got my baby Ava after years of trying and now I have to say goodbye to my fur baby, Jade.

UPDATE:

Jade was put down today around noon – my mom was there to hold her when they did it. I’m so thankful for her, I don’t think I could have done that and held it together. My Mom cried and as I mentioned, she didn’t even like her. The doctor said although Jade was not in physical pain, the doggie alzheimers wasn’t fair for her and it was time to let her go.

Feb. 1, 2001 – Feb. 7, 2015

photo 1 photo 2IMG_0077

Ava’s update

IMG_0073

On a lighter note – Ava is doing great! She is laughing and giggling more and more each day. We took her to the doctor on Wednesday due to some spitting issues. She will spit up/puke 4 times after a feeding and burp like crazy and she was farting up a storm. She wasn’t overly fussy but I was worried because she is rather small and I didn’t want her to lose weight. So she was on par at 8lbs 4 oz. The doctor said it wasn’t stellar but it is still within the average. She also recommended mylicon and propping her crib up, more burping, not putting her down for 15 min after feeding. Next step will be zantac; but I’m not overly excited to put her on medication if she’s not cranky, she’s gaining weight and she’s a “happy spitter.”

UPDATE on Cry It Out – We’ve backed up a little bit on CIO – I try to get her to sleep in my arms but never succeed in keeping her asleep and I put her down. Two nights ago she cried for 24 minutes and then slept for 6.5 hours. Yesterday I was driving running errands (and trying to get her to sleep) and she lost her pacifier, she screamed for 10 minutes then passed out. Not an intentional cry it out, but I couldn’t stop the car to give her the pacifier. Last night was the best night so far. I put her down and her eyes shot open. She wiggled around for 15 minutes or so then started to cry. She cried for about 10 minutes and then passed out. She woke up 15 minutes later, cried for 5 minutes and then passed out again for 7.5 hours! I was up more frequently than her to check on her! Hopefully she continues to do well with this. The fact that I’m getting more sleep has helped me feel human again.

Picture with Grandma

IMG_0084

5 thoughts on “6 Weeks Old and 14 Years Old

  1. Oh hun, I am so sorry for the loss of your dog. Having to make that decision to end their lives is so hard! I had to do that with my black lab mix (she was 17) a month before I got married.

    I’ve gotten some of the same advice for M in regards to her fussiness while eating. Prop the crib mattress up and keep her upright for 10-15 mins. It does seem to be helping a little but she seems to slither around in her crib more now, lol.

      • I took a small fleece blanket and rolled it up (a flat roll) and placed it under the head of her mattress so it propped it up about 2 inches. It seems to work great for us, but she does move around a lot and ends up wiggling to the other end of the crib or turns at a 90 degree angle.

  2. So sorry to hear about your dog 😦

    We’re dealing with a fussy colic baby right now and possibly acid reflux, but luckily he doesn’t spit up much. But I hear his stomach gurgling and the screams of pain break my heart.. right now we’re giving him Gripe Water. Glad to hear Ava is sleeping a little better… Daniel isnt lol.

Leave a Reply

