Week 24 – cytomegalovirus

 

So earlier this week we learned that a friend of ours baby has CMV (cytomegalovirus). A virus that can be very bad for pregnant women. Apparently many people have this virus in their system but never produce symptoms, our body fights it and gets over it but it never truly leaves you like chicken pox.The problem with CMV is when a baby contracts it in utero. Well our friends son who is a very sick baby (heart condition, spina bifida) now has CMV – I was exposed to the baby during my first 12 weeks of pregnancy. Now I don’t THINK I was exposed to his body fluids (how it is passed) but you never know. So needless to say I am very worried. We called our OB yesterday and played phone tag for two days, but either way I am getting blood work done to check for the virus/antibodies. Best case, I don’t have antibodies or the virus. If I have antibodies, it’s probably an old virus from pre-pregnancy (remember it never goes away like chicken pox) but it shouldn’t be a problem. Worst case, I contracted the virus during pregnancy and that will open pandoras box of possible issues.  Upon googling the shit out of this virus I was scared shitless of what might happen. I know it’s rare, but I can’t believe I have never heard of this. Anyways, blood work is done, I should hear back within the week but my day has been filled with anxiety, worry and prayers. I always feel better when I feel our little girl kick, but I am also worried that we have gotten this far, through infertility and miscarriage, and something horrible might happen. This has not been a happy and love filled week 24. But here is our growth….

photo (8)

How far along? 24 Weeks and 1 day

Total weight gain: 13 lbs as of two weeks ago

Maternity clothes? Back to school has been a little tough figuring out what to wear.. but definitely maternity wear

Sleep: good, can’t complain

Best moment this week: feeling the kicks every evening

Miss anything? Cheese: blue cheese, feta, gorgonzola etc.

Movement: Kicks and thumps on my lower abdomen in the evening, rarely during the day

Food cravings: not really

Anything making you queasy or sick: No

Gender: It’s a GIRL!

Symptoms:  leg/hip pain continue

Belly button in or out? In!

Wedding rings on or off? On.

Happy or moody most of the time: worried about CMV – leading to me being very moody and touchy

One thought on “Week 24 – cytomegalovirus

Leave a Reply

