19 Weeks (and 2 days)

photo 3

We hit 19 weeks this week 🙂 almost half way there. 

This week has been a little anxiety ridden as we waited for our anatomy scan. Last year after our miscarriage we had some friends that received life changing news at their anatomy scan. I had fears that even though we got this far, something would go wrong at the scan. There’s no way of knowing and it can happen to anyone. Their lives forever changed that day; our friends have a happy baby boy but healthy is a matter of definition.

Anyways, this was part of my anxiety building and building all week. This week I also popped to the point that no dress/baggy shirt can hide my bump now 🙂 at least I knew something was growing and living in there!

We had our anatomy scan Friday morning. I cute little place that again, I was worried about because of the online reviews. Many women had complaints about the receptionists, the technicians, but especially the doctor. But no need to worry. We had a slightly older woman perform the ultra-sound. She walked us through every picture, detail, what she was looking for, what she was hoping to see and not see. Some may have said she talked too much. But it was totally worth it. All her parts were there, brain was right sized, all veins and arteries were pumping the correct directions. Essentially she is perfect! I huge sigh of relief! phewww! We are supposed to have an additional ultra sound for the heart (a precaution for all IVF pregnancies)

photo (4)

How far along? 19 Weeks 2 days

Total weight gain: 8 lbs as of last week

Maternity clothes? Bought a bunch more stuff, but mostly wearing my two pairs of maternity shorts. I can still fit in my maxi dresses and skirts too

Sleep: Ok, my headaches are coming and going. I was thinking they might be from tension and stress. However, sleep is evading me around 5-6am when I wake up to aching in my thigh/hip flexor! Every morning for the past week I’ve woken up with pain that no amount of repositioning would stop it. The only thing that stops it is stretching and/or heat.

Best moment this week: Seeing our baby girl kick, wiggle and swallow on the ultra sound

Miss anything? I couldn’t eat buffalo chicken dip today because of the blue cheese… booo…

Movement: Not yet, the ultrasound tech explained that the thinnest part of the placenta is located on my top right side, so I would feel it there first. I also feel better because my sister-in-law told my husband she didn’t feel her first until 22 weeks. So I’ve got some time.

Food cravings: Not really

Anything making you queasy or sick: No, right as rain

Gender: It’s a GIRL.

Symptoms: Headaches and leg/hip pain continue

Belly button in or out? In!

Wedding rings on or off? On.

Happy or moody most of the time: Happy

grapefruit

Baby is the size of a grapefruit!

One thought on “19 Weeks (and 2 days)

Leave a Reply

