16 Weeks – Private Scan

16 Weeks has been one of the best weeks by far! My sister is in town to visit from Kansas City with my niece and nephew. We went to the Red Sox game on Thursday and spent the day up at Fenway.

I was also so excited for week 16 to come because my husband and I decided to pay for a private scan AND at 16 weeks, they private scan can show the gender 🙂 I am still getting very anxious about the pregnancy and not being able to hear the heartbeat/ultrasound weekly, something about once a month just isn’t enough for me! So I googled some places in R.I. and actually 3 places came up! Surprisingly, the price was not that bad. We decided to go with “Babies and Bellies,” in Providence. It was $75 for a 10 minute ultra-sound, pictures, a CD with more pictures and of course the gender determination.

So, we anxiously drove to Providence and arrived at this cute little office. A woman checked us in and gave us some free samples for formula. My anxiety began to build as I’m waiting for her to start and find the heartbeat. But within seconds we could see the little body and another few seconds she found the heartbeat.

 photo 2

After some prodding to flip the little one around she was able to find the gender…

AND IT’S A….

photo 1

GIRL!

 

How far along? 16 Weeks 1 Day

Total weight gain: 5 lbs (but haven’t checked since last appt.)

Maternity clothes? Finally broke down to ordered some shorts on Motherhood Maternity. I can’t wait until they come in!

Sleep: Ok, I’ve been waking occasionally with tightness and to have to go to the bathroom

Best moment this week: Scan to find the gender!

Miss anything? Being able to eat things at cookouts! I miss cold salads and medium rare meat!

Movement: Not yet

Food cravings: I’ve been craving a peanut butter and chocolate ice cream milk shake! These items are on the grocery list!

Anything making you queasy or sick: not this week

Gender: Ben’s predictions, ratios and statistics did nothing to prepare him for a GIRL!

Labor signs: No.

Symptoms: Some round ligament pain, tightness in my abdomen

Belly button in or out? In!

Wedding rings on or off? On.

Happy or moody most of the time: Happy, Happy, Happy!

 

One thought on “16 Weeks – Private Scan

Leave a Reply

